Analysis & Opinion

More Analysis & Opinion

Sue Cameron: It’s early days, but this Brexit lark’s already a goldmine for satirists

17 October 2016

The spirit of Yes, Minister lives on in the UK's bid to disentangle itself from the European Union, writes Sue Cameron

With Brexit dominating Whitehall's in-tray, Theresa May must learn to prioritise

13 October 2016

Leaving the European Union will be a massive task. But the government also needs a strategy for cutting day-to-day spending while maintaining, or indeed improving, the quality of public services

 

Former DWP perm sec Sir Leigh Lewis on the problem with winter fuel payments

12 October 2016

During my many years inside government I met ministers from all parties who, privately, agreed that universal Winter Fuel Payments were a costly and untargeted indulgence which we could ill afford

Dave Penman: MPs got very excited about the civil service's Brexit planning – maybe they should brush up on the constitution

11 October 2016

As MPs went round in circles on Chilcot and the EU referendum, the FDA general secretary Dave Penman wondered how Sir Jeremy Heywood maintained his calm, settled demeanour

Headcount, pay gaps & progress on diversity: 8 things we learned from the latest civil service stats

6 October 2016

As fresh Office for National Statistics data shines a light on headcount, salary and diversity within the civil service, CSW's Jim Dunton analyses the key findings

Is Whitehall's obsession with business cases getting in the way of delivery?

6 October 2016

Opinion: By dictating the conversation about money, HM Treasury exerts an enormous influence over how Whitehall thinks about answering problems

Theresa May's Great Repeal Bill must not lead to rushed and incoherent legislation

5 October 2016

The prime minister has promised a bill to repatriate EU law to the UK. But, writes George Peretz QC of Monckton Chambers, there is a serious risk that swathes of legislation, drafted in a hurry by overworked civil servants, will be waived through without proper parliamentary scrutiny

Are you holding yourself back? Tips on how to flex your career from the Environment Agency’s Miranda Kavanagh

4 October 2016

The EA’s gender champion and executive director of evidence shares her thoughts on why switching sectors or retraining is nothing to be afraid of

Why DfID can't shy away from talking tax with its Whitehall neighbours

3 October 2016

If government were to explore how UK tax policies impact on developing countries, it is entirely possible that it would identify ‘win-win’ situations, says Richard Gledhill of the Independent Commission on Aid Impact

Civil Service Compensation Scheme: will you be affected by the redundancy shake-up?

27 September 2016

As the Cabinet Office makes its final offer to unions on planned reform of the Civil Service Compensation Scheme, CSW's Matt Foster takes a detailed look at the key changes to redundancy terms

Why charities should take a leaf out of the Government Digital Service's book

22 September 2016

Digital technology presents charities with huge opportunities — and GDS has shown the importance of a user-centred approach to digital transformation

The civil service’s big recruitment shake-up is welcome — but we need to be building leaders

15 September 2016

Bernard Jenkin, the Public Administraton and Constitutional Affairs Committee chairman,  offers his verdict on the recently published Civil Service Workforce Plan